Heavy Vehicle National Law

About the HVNL

The HVNL is currently in force in Queensland, New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, Tasmania, and South Australia.

It is underpinned by four sets of regulations:

We are currently undertaking a comprehensive review of the HVNL. For more information, see the Heavy Vehicle National Law review page.


The HVNL is the result of a collaborative process led by the NTC. It involved industry and government to develop a nationally-consistent approach to heavy vehicle legislation and regulation based on model laws developed by the NTC.

The HVNL and its regulations commenced on 10 February 2014.

The HVNL as passed by the Queensland Parliament is adopted for implementation by the other participating states and territories in their parliaments.

For the current laws and regulations, please visit the Queensland Legislation website.