We are accountable to Australian transport ministers through the Infrastructure and Transport Ministers’ Meeting (ITMM), comprising Commonwealth, state and territory ministers responsible for transport and infrastructure, and local government representation. We work closely with the ministers’ advisory body, the Infrastructure and Transport Senior Officials’ Committee (ITSOC), which includes the heads of Commonwealth, state and territory agencies as well as other transport bodies.

Australian transport ministers provide further direction and guidance through their: 

Statement of Expectations

The Statement of Expectations outlines transport ministers' expectations concerning the operations and performance of the NTC from 1 July 2022 to 31 December 2024.

Performance-based Framework

The Performance-based Framework contains outputs and timing for transport ministers' to consider and monitor the NTC's Corporate Plan, program of work and budget each year.