NTC welcomes new commission appointments

Published: 20 Dec 2017

The National Transport Commission (NTC) today welcomed the appointment of a new chair and deputy chair, and two new commissioners following formal ministerial ratification. The changes will come into effect from 1 January 2018.

Incumbent Deputy Chair, Ms Carolyn Walsh, has been appointed as Chair of the Commission. She replaces Mr David Anderson PSM, who recently resigned after four years as Chair. Current Commissioner, Ms Nola Bransgrove OAM, has been appointed as Deputy Chair of the Commission.

Current Commissioner Mr Neil Scales OBE, Director-General of the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads, has also been reappointed for a further three years.

NTC Chief Executive Paul Retter has thanked Ms Walsh, Ms Bransgrove and Mr Scales for their strong commitment to the national land transport reform agenda.

“Carolyn, Nola and Neil have incredible knowledge and experience, and since their initial appointments in 2014, have made major contributions towards the delivery of the NTC’s reform priorities,” Mr Retter said.

“I am delighted that their efforts over the past four years have been recognised and the NTC looks forward to continuing our important work in national land transport reform.”

Mr Retter also welcomed new Commissioners, Dr Steven Kennedy PSM, the newly appointed Secretary of the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, and Mr Reece Waldock, former Director-General of the West Australian Department of Transport.

“The five Commissioners will provide the NTC with a well-balanced mix of heavy vehicle, rail, intermodal and government experience,” Mr Retter said.

“With such a strongly credentialed group of Commissioners, the NTC is well-placed to continue progressing a number of complex and challenging reforms that will benefit all Australians.”