NTC establishes working groups to deliver the National Rail Action Plan

Published: 29 May 2020

The National Transport Commission has established three industry and government working groups to deliver the National Rail Action Plan, agreed by the Transport and Infrastructure Council in November 2019.

The co-chairs of each working group include representation from industry and government:

Skills and labour

  • Caroline Wilkie, Chief Executive Officer, Australasian Railway Association
  • Tony Braxton-Smith, CEO, Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (SA)


  • Simon Ormsby, Group Executive Strategy, Australian Rail Track Corporation
  • Carolyn Walsh, NTC Chair

Harmonisation and common standards

  • Deb Spring, CEO, Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board
  • Ben Phyland, Department of Transport (Vic)

For more information, read Media release: Government partners with industry to secure brighter rail future (29 May 2020)