About NTC / Who we are & what we do / Commissioners

Profiles of NTC's commissioners.


Carolyn Walsh – Chair and Commissioner

Deputy Chair - Carolyn Walsh web.jpgCarolyn commenced as Chair of the National Transport Commission on 1 January 2018. She has been a Commissioner since 1 January 2014.

Carolyn is currently a Commissioner at the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, and is a member of a number of NSW Government agency Audit and Risk Committees. She also provides consultancy services in safety and risk management.

Her past roles with the NSW Government have included Chief Executive of the Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator and Executive Director, Office of the Coordinator General of Rail. She has also held several positions within the Commonwealth Department of Industry, Science and Resources.

Nola Bransgrove OAM – Deputy Chair and Commissioner

Commissioner - Nola Bransgrove web.jpgNola commenced as Deputy Chair of the National Transport Commission on 1 January 2018. She has been a Commissioner since 1 January 2014.

Nola is joint owner of Branstrans Pty Ltd, a transport company based in Gippsland, Victoria. She had an instrumental role in the development of the industry accreditation program TruckSafe and was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for services to the Transport and Logistics Industry and the Community in 2012.

She is also Chair of Transport & Distribution Training, Victoria and Women in Supply Chain. Her past roles include Municipal Councillor of Traralgon Shire, Commissioner of Latrobe Regional Commission, Trustee Director of Transport Industry Superannuation Fund, Councillor of Victorian Freight and Logistics Council and Director or Chair of a number of other representative organisations.

Neil Scales OBE – Commissioner

Neil was appointed a Commissioner of the National Transport Commission on 10 September 2014.

Neil is the Director-General of Queensland’s Department of Transport and Main Roads which has an operating budget of more than $6 billion, capital budget of $3.1 billion and manages assets worth almost $57 billion.

He not only became trade qualified but also studied for a series of work-related qualifications at Sunderland Polytechnic including ONC (Engineering), HNC (Electrical and Electronic Engineering), a BSc (Engineering), and an MSc in Control Engineering and Computing Systems. This was supplemented by qualifications in general management, a Diploma in Management Studies with Distinction, and an MBA with the Open University.

In 2005, Neil received an Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE) for services to public transport. He was also awarded an honorary Fellowship from Liverpool John Moores University in 2011 for his services to the region.

Dr Steven Kennedy PSM – Commissioner

Steven commenced as Commissioner of the National Transport Commission on 1 January 2018. He is the Secretary of the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities, a position he has held since 18 September 2017.

Prior to that, Steven was a Deputy Secretary at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, where he was responsible for Innovation and Transformation and led work on the Cities Agenda, regulatory reform, public data and digital innovation. Steven was previously a Deputy Secretary at the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science; the Department of the Environment; the former Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education; the former Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, and the Head of Secretariat of the Garnaut Climate Change Review – Update 2011.

Steven holds a PhD and a Masters in Economics from the Australian National University and a Bachelor of Economics (First Class Honours) from the University of Sydney.

Reece Waldock AM – Commissioner

Reece commenced as Commissioner of the National Transport Commission on 1 January 2018.

He has more than 35 years’ experience in strategic management with expertise in organisational reform. His appointment as Director General of the Department of Transport (WA) followed a 20-year career with various state government transport agencies with 15 years as CEO. He was appointed the inaugural head of three transport agencies in May 2010 — Director General Transport, Commissioner Main Roads WA and Chief Executive Officer of the Public Transport Authority. Prior to his public sector career, Reece held a number of senior management roles with BHP.

Reece is currently Chair of Lifeline WA, Chair of the Planning and Research Centre (PATREC) and a Board member of Infrastructure Australia.

He has a Master of Business and a Bachelor of Science (Metallurgy with distinction), and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport. 

Paul Retter AM – Chief Executive

CEO web.jpg

Paul commenced as Chief Executive and Commissioner of the NTC on 8 July 2013.

Paul has extensive knowledge of transport and logistics, having held the position of Executive Director of the Office of Transport Security (OTS) at the Department of Transport and Regional Services from 2006-13. In this position, Paul was responsible for OTS' work within the framework of the National Counter-Terrorism Plan to provide strategic leadership and national consistency in transport security; set and enforce a preventive security framework for the aviation, maritime and oil and gas sectors and work with state and territory governments to implement effective and consistent preventive security measures in surface transport.

Prior to joining OTS, Paul was a senior member of the Australian Defence Force, where he was responsible for developing and progressing land based military capability requirements to government. His other defence appointments between 2001 and 2004 included appointment as the Deputy Force Commander of the UN Peacekeeping Force in East Timor, and as Army's Director General of Preparedness and Plans.

Paul was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2006 and awarded the Australian Security Medal (Australian Security Industry Award) for Conspicuous Service in 2012.

Last Updated: 21/6/2018